Our Mission: 

The mission of the New Mexico Alliance of Health Councils is to improve the health of all people living in New Mexico by supporting and strengthening county and tribal health councils, advocating for health equity, and by providing a strong voice for community and public health.

The New Mexico Alliance of Health Councils exists to support and strengthen the state’s county and tribal health councils.  The health councils have provided community-based health planning and coordination in New Mexico since their creation in  1991.  

In early 2011, the New Mexico Alliance of Health Councils was re-established with three goals:

  • Establish a unified voice to strengthen and promote the value and services of community health councils, through state and local education and advocacy;
  • Assist the health councils in seeking and obtaining funding to support community health improvement;
  • Build the capacity of all health councils to continue and expand their work, through conferences, training workshops, a   newsletter, and web-based information exchange.

Governance of the Alliance is by a Steering Committee, consisting of one representative from each health council, with an Executive Committee representing six regions (including a tribal representative) and three committees:  Policy, Capacity-Building, and Resource Development.  The Executive Committee conducts the ongoing business of the Alliance, while the Steering Committee meets once a year in person and quarterly by phone.  The Alliance works closely with the New Mexico Health Equity Partnership, the New Mexico Department of Health, and other statewide entities, and serves as a support and communications hub for the state’s health councils.

New Mexico Health Councils

  • Bernalillo County
  • Catron County
  • Chaves County
  • Cibola County
  • Colfax County
  • Curry County
  • DeBaca County
  • Dona Ana County
  • Eddy County
  • Grant County
  • Guadalupe County
  • Harding County
  • Hidalgo County
  • Lea County
  • Lincoln County
  • Los Alamos County
  • Luna County
  • McKinley County
  • Mora County
  • Otero County
  • Quay County
  • Rio Arriba County
  • Roosevelt County
  • Sandoval County
  • San Juan County
  • San Miguel County
  • Santa Fe County
  • Sierra County
  • Socorro County
  • Taos County
  • Torrance County
  • Union County
  • Valencia County
  • Acoma Pueblo
  • Pueblo de Cochiti
  • San Ildefonso Pueblo
  • Santa Clara Pueblo
  • ToHajillee

For more information contact: 
Sharon Finarelli, Executive Director
New Mexico Alliance of Health Councils
PO Box 75, Caballo NM 87931
Cell: 575-621-9684
e-mail: sharon@nmhealthcouncils.org 


© New Mexico Alliance of Health Councils
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software